Karachi Kings win their first title, Baber Azam rules the tournament

Karachi Kings win their first title, Baber rules the tournament, the team of PSL 2020 announced. Karachi Kings on Tuesday night was crowned the 2020 Pakistan Super League winners after beating Lahore Qalandars by five wickets, their first-ever title of Pakistan’s premier Twenty 20 tournament.

One of the world’s leading batsmen, Babar Azam knocked a commanding half-century to help his side win their first championship in five years at Karachi National Stadium.

Azam smashed seven boundaries in his 49-ball 63, but it was skipper Imad Wasim who hit the winning boundary to help the Kings overhaul a modest 135-run target in 18.4 overs.

Karachi Kings skipper, Imad Wasim is terribly proud of the way the bowlers executed their plans.

“We knew if Babar put on a masterclass we could effectively put our feet up in the chase. Generally, when I bowl the first over, I can get a read of the wicket. Arshad Iqbal was an emerging cricketer but he played a crucial role for us today. If the fans had been around, it would have made it even sweeter.”

“Dean Jones, of course, gets credit because what he taught us very few coaches in the world can. Wasim Akram, of course, deserves the trophy because he was our bowling coach, head coach, mentor and team president rolled in one. It’s an honour to captain this franchise.”

Babar rules PSL 2020

Karachi King’s star man Babar finished as the highest run-getter of PSL 2020 with 473 runs at an impressive average of 59.12 and a strike rate of 124.14. Babar Azam wins the Player of the Tournament award, too!

 “I just needed to remain cool,” Babar says. “The team was depending on me and I needed not to panic. The wicket as slow and I wasn’t feeling the ball on the bat very well. I feel the calmer you are, the better you perform. I just knew I had to be there at the finish, and in the end, we chased it with ease.”


Lahore Qalandars skipper Sohail Akhtar warmly congratulates Karachi Kings on their first Pakistan Super League title.

“Getting here is a big achievement for us. We played excellent cricket, and everyone bought into the project. I think I’m very fortunate to be leading such a wonderful franchise. I’d love to thank our senior players, people like Ben Dunk and Mohammad Hafeez who supported me. The wicket was slow, and we were at least 20 runs short today.”

Team of the HBL PSL 2020 announced

A four-member independent jury today announced the Team of HBL Pakistan Super League 2020, which will be captained by Islamabad United’s Shadab Khan.
Independent jury included respected commentators Bazid Khan, Ramiz Raja and Urooj Mumtaz, and event technical committee member Nadeem Khan.

Shadab Khan: “I feel honoured to have been appointed captain of Team of the HBL PSL 2020, which includes some fine performers from one of the most successful events. However, it hurts that we were unable to make it to the playoffs. We gave our best shot, which was clearly not enough, and means we have to come harder and stronger when the sixth edition is played next year.”

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!